Halfway Through! 2014 Update

Wait, what?

It’s nearing the end of July. My 28th birthday is in a few days. More than half the year is over. Where has 2014 gone?

The whole point of this post was to publicly announce how “Goals and Gains in 2014” from my original post in January has changed already this year.

Mention a few likes/dislikes.

Brag a little.

Ya know, basically talk about how badass my life has been the last 7 months.

OH! Well, if you’re a noob to my site, this wouldn’t apply to you. But, if you’re a former visitor, you’ve probably noticed some (awesome) changes to this here .com address. First of all, my layout is way cooler. More importantly though, you’ll notice I added a few pages:

About

That whole bio thing.

Personal Training

That’s right, officially a CPT as of April!

Obstacle Course Racing & Legend Race Team

In case you were curious as to what in the world OCR is, AND to brag about these wonderful people I’ve had the pleasure of training/running/causing shenanigans with. Obviously.

Rucking & GoRuck

Basically explains my new (other) obsession for fitness, as well as a page entirely dedicated to those who share the same obsession-a.k.a. “Weirdos” or “Rucktards”-and the sole company that that tortures us and takes our money. For fun.

So, there’s that. There’s still a lot of work to add to them, so don’t judge me.

Now for what I’m really trying to bore you with-an update to “Goals and Gains in 2014.” So without further ado…

Recap

posted January, 2014

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to what I have in store for myself for 2014. Another Rugged Maniac in April and Ninja Challenge in June, and a new challenge, GoRuck in June as well.

I also have a hardcore competition going on with a certain someone-who can get the most ripped come August/September after his return home from overseas 😉 and finally…a physique competition come November!

Excited and ambitious for what 2014 will bring!

Ahem. This is what my busy schedule REALLY ended up being:

So far:

And this is what it looks like for the rest of the year:

  • 7/26 Spartan Sprint-DC
  • 8/23 Spartan Super-Mid-Atlantic
  • 9/6 GORUCK 5pack 5k
  • 10/10 GoRuck Challenge-Chapel Hill
  • 10/25 Spartan Beast-Carolinas
  • 11/14-11/15 GORUCK All Woman’s Weekend (Challenge, Light, Scavenger)

I can’t believe I’ve accomplished so much already, and there’s still plenty of fun to be had!

Update::2014 Goals & Gains

So what has changed since January? Well, for starters, there’s 1 or 2 national races that I would like to get under my belt (or, more appropriately, a medal around my neck for) in 2015, but in this year alone I was able to run most every race I could ever want to do. 2015 will be Tough Mudder and…well, right now that’s the only one I can think of that I wasn’t able to put into my schedule for this year!

Spartan Trifecta

Spartan Trifecta Badge I never thought I would be able to accomplish the coveted Spartan Trifecta. That is until I finished the Sprint in Charlotte. “You’ll know at the finish line” says Spartan.

Yup. They were right. I sure did.

I knew after I crossed that finish line that I wanted, and will, obtain my trifecta this year. Add that to the checklist of goals! And to think, just a few short 7 months ago, I never thought I would have the courage to participate in the Super or Beast.

GoRuck Weekend

I have to be completely honest.

To date, 6/14/14 was physically the hardest I’ve ever pushed my body. The GoRuck “Light” may be the short one…but surely wasn’t easy. If you would have told me I could do (numerous) push-ups/sit-ups/burpees/lunges/BEAR CRAWLS while wearing a 30lb. weighted rucksack on my back…I would have told you no. If you would have told me that I could help carry huge logs, full water canteens, people with rucksacks of their own on…for miles…I would have told you no.

Well, tell me now. Because I believe you.

GoRuck All Women Event In fact, I believe you so much, I booked the All Girls weekend, which will be a Challenge, Light, and Scavenger back to back. Me and around 200 other BAMF women. Gettin’ some good livin’. In November. Did I mention it was in Miami? Yeah-be jealous.

“Building Better Americans” says GoRuck.

Yeah. I agree.

Get Ripped

I have about 6 weeks left until my friend returns home in September. As much as I don’t want to willingly admit it, he kicked my ass in the “get ripped” category. Trust me-I’ve seen progress pics.

But wait.

What’s more “ripped” anyway? Because he’s now at 9% BF and I’m hanging around 20-22%? Well how about the fact that I’ve shed about 6-8% since January. Or how I went from mid 180s to now 165-170 (and not done shredding yet!) since the beginning of the year.

How about the fact that I am officially, to date, the strongest and fittest I have ever been in life.

All while being a single (and sole provider) mom, working a full-time job and training part time on the side.

Yeah. I’d say I won, too.

Physique

As far as a fitness competition goes in November….eh, scratch that off the list for now. That’ll come back in the future, but I decided to wipe that one away for this year.

Why? Because I like beer. And good food.

More importantly, I like earning good beer and great food. With my Legenders and Weirdos.

The End.

Join Me!

I created this site and posts these posts not only for me, but because I have a lot of people question why, and what, I am doing. I’ve had plenty of people curious enough to ask. I’ve had others brave enough to check it out.

If any of my shenanigans entice you, I’m asking you to come join me! If you have been interested in doing a mud run or wondering what in the world rucking is-let me show you!

If you need a trainer or advice-I’m now certified to do it!

Stay classy!

Leave a Reply

